No man-may make another free

New Media, New Man

"Kein Mensch kann eine weitere frei." Diese tiefsinnigen Worte von dem Schriftsteller und Anthropologe gesprochen wurden, Zora Neale Hurston. Wenn es darum geht, daß wir uns von den Bildern der Vergangenheit, Schwarze Frauen finden sich mit der Macht, sich zu befreien bereit. Auf befreien uns von ungesunden Beziehungen und Einstellungen, Schwarze Frauen suchen Freiheit von alten Karikaturen zum Zwecke der öffentlichen Verbrauch und hohe komödiantischen Wert, den wir gewöhnt sind erstellt. In den Medien, wir haben weniger Karikaturen von Schwarzen Frauen, außer für den Laderaum outs von den stereotypen Mammy noch in Filmen, wo Männer tragen Kleider gefunden, Polsterung und Make-up, und sind mit hohen Dosen von Haltung bewaffneten. Ich werde keine Namen nennen hier, sondern auch alle Leser wissen, die Bilder, die ich mich beziehe.

Sicherlich, Wir haben einen langen Weg auf dem Weg zu Freiheit von diesen historischen und zeitgenössischen Bildern kommen. Aber, einige Missverständnisse bleiben, belegt durch die Filme oben genannten. Wir sehen auch diese Herabwürdigung der schwarzen Frauen in sogenannten wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften wie die jüngsten Psychology Today Zeitschriftenartikel. Unter dem Deckmantel der "Analyse", Der Autor erklärt, dass Daten Schwarze Frauen als weniger attraktiv als andere Frauen betrachtet zeigte. Die Tatsache, dass der Autor einer solch grotesken Studien-und entwickelten die Zeitschrift it-spricht Bände über ein bestimmtes Segment der Gesellschaft, die immer noch verunglimpft Schwarze Frauen.

Es stellt sich die Frage nach der Art und Weise, schwarze Frauen sich wünschen dargestellt werden, und was über die Verbreitung dieser alternativen Bilder von schwarzen Frauen getan. Es scheint, als ob die neuen und boomenden New Media bietet eine hervorragende Gelegenheit, die Zügel zu nehmen und direkt die Schaffung von mehr facettenreiche Bilder, die die Schönheit dieser Frauen reflektieren.

New Media ist gesund und munter. Das Angebot ändert sich täglich. Die vielen Gesichter gehören, sind aber nicht beschränkt auf: Internet, Webseiten, Webisodes und Video-Programmierung Websites (wie YouTube, Vimeo, und so weiter.), Videospiele, Computerspiele, CD-ROMs und DVDs und Printmedien, die digitale Interaktivität bieten. Es gibt eine wachsende Liste von Web-Serie produziert, geschrieben und mit schwarzen Frauen wie "Die Fährnisse Peinlich Black Girl" (erstellt von Issa Rae), "Chick-In mir lebt eine Superhero" (produziert von Kai Soremekun), "Afro City" (Buch und Regie: Rhonda Ray produziert), und "The New Twenties" (Buch und Regie: Tracy Taylor und Maurice Dwyer produziert). New Media bietet kostengünstige und einfach Posting-Funktionen. Alles, was Sie brauchen, sind kreative Vision, einen Computer, Kamera und Internet-Anschluss, um Ihre Vision mit der Welt teilen.

"The New Twenties" Webserie von Tracy Taylor und Maurice Dwyer Produziert

 

Fragen bleiben. Welches Bild haben wir hoffen, um zu sehen,? Was sind Ihre Lieblings-Beispiele für die Arbeit draußen in den USA und in der gesamten Diaspora? Was tun Sie, um dieses neue Medium nutzen, um Bilder von schwarzen Frauen zu verwandeln? Die wahren Geschichten des Lebens, Leidenschaften und Begierden ungeschrieben bleiben. Ich begrüße Ihre Gedanken und Fragen zu diesem Blog. Wie Frau. Hurston sagte, "Es gibt Jahre, die Fragen und Jahre, die Antwort zu bitten."

Indigo Thema: Women of Vision und Zweck ist eine Spalte auf Orijin Blog und Magazin. Die Säule konzentriert sich auf schwarze Frauen in den Medien und anderen Bereichen der Gesellschaft, einschließlich der sozialen, Kultur-, wirtschaftlichen und geistigen. Der Blog erscheint am Mittwoch, und das Magazin Version der Spalte erscheint in jeder Ausgabe der Publikation. Es wird von Anthropologen und Schauspielerin geschrieben, Michelle Flowers, Wer ist in Los Angeles, CA.

Die folgenden beiden Registerkarten ändern Gehalt unter.
Michelle Flowers works as an applied anthropologist and educator. She is currently pursuing her Ed.D. in Educational Leadership.

Latest posts by michelleflowers (schauen Sie sich alle)

Was ist Ihre Meinung?

Lassen Sie eine Antwort

F
F
Twitter
orijinculture auf Twitter
3,909 Menschen folgen orijinculture
Twitter Pic RealBeli Twitter Pic Addianno Twitter Pic Superego Twitter Pic InHosann Twitter Pic AnthonyP Twitter Pic nycevugo Twitter Pic owoo_isa Twitter Pic Vergnügen
F
orijinculture
548
& Nbsp; Fotos
3953
& Nbsp; Verfolger
4874
& Nbsp; Nach
#Fashion by #OrijinCulture  ________________________________ Designed to embrace our heritage while empowering our day and age. ________________________________ 
#africandesigner #africandesigners #madeinafrica #africanmade
#iwearafrica #iwearafrican #checkoutafrica #fashopnbombdaily #igfashion #igstyle  #ankaraStyle #africanfashion #africanculture #africanstyle #themotherland #original #africanbeauty #tina #tia #africaninspired #fashionblog #lifestyleblog #teamnatural #twa #tribalstyle #fblogger #insellySomething to think about if by Gods grace you wake up to tomorrow morning. #inspirationFashion by #OrijinCulture  ________________________________ Designed to embrace our heritage while empowering our day and age. ________________________________ 
#africandesigner #africandesigners #madeinafrica #africanmade
#iwearafrica #iwearafrican #checkoutafrica #fashopnbombdaily #igfashion #igstyle  #ankaraStyle #africanfashion #africanculture #africanstyle #themotherland #original #africanbeauty #tina #tia #africaninspired #fashionblog #lifestyleblog #teamnatural #twa #tribalstyle #fblogger #inselly#blackbeautyAny fool can wear a golden crown to look like a queen, but a real queens crown is embedded in her heart, behind her #beauty; Her #culture, her #pride, her personality. I see a Queen, an #africanQueen || #OrijinCultureMade for the style. #WoodenSunglasses  by #OrijinDedo. (An #OrijinCulture collection.) || orijinstore.com __________________________________________ #africandesigner #madeinafrica #africanmade
#iwearafrica #iwearafrican #checkoutafrica #fashopnbombdaily #igfashion #igstyle  #ankaraStyle #africanfashion #africanculture #africanstyle #themotherland #original #africanbeauty #tina #tia #africaninspired #fashionblog #lifestyleblog #teamnatural #twa #tribalstyle #fblogger #woodenframesMade for the Natural. #WoodenSunglasses  by #OrijinDedo. (An #OrijinCulture collection.) || orijinstore.com __________________________________________ #africandesigner #madeinafrica #africanmade
#iwearafrica #iwearafrican #checkoutafrica #fashopnbombdaily #igfashion #igstyle  #ankaraStyle #africanfashion #africanculture #africanstyle #themotherland #original #africanbeauty #tina #tia #africaninspired #fashionblog #lifestyleblog #teamnatural #twa #tribalstyle #fblogger #woodenframes #woodenMade for the Cultured. #WoodenSunglasses  by #OrijinDedo.(An #OrijinCulture collection.) || orijinstore.com __________________________________________ #africandesigner #madeinafrica #africanmade #iwearafrica #iwearafrican #checkoutafrica #fashopnbombdaily #igfashion #igstyle  #ankaraStyle #africanfashion #africanculture #africanstyle #themotherland #original #africanbeauty #tina #tia #africaninspired #fashionblog #lifestyleblog #teamnatural #twa #tribalstyle #fblogger #woodenframes #wooden
F

Indigo Thread: Women of Vision and Purpose

In #RealTalk

New Media, New You

“No man may make another free.” These profound words were spoken by writer and anthropologist, Zora Neale Hurston. When it comes to freeing ourselves from the images of the past, Black women find themselves poised with the power to make themselves free. On top of freeing ourselves from unhealthy relationships and attitudes, Black women seek liberty from old caricatures created for the purpose of public consumption and high comedic value which we have grown accustomed to. In the media, we have fewer caricatures of Black women, except for the hold outs of the stereotypical Mammy still found in films where men wear dresses, padding and makeup, and are armed with heavy doses of attitude. I will not mention any names here, but all the readers know the images that I am referring to.

Surely, we have come a long way on the journey toward freedom from these historic and contemporary images. However, some misconceptions remain, evidenced by the films mentioned above. We also see this vilification of Black women in so-called science magazines such as the recent Psychology Today magazine article. Under the guise of ‘analysis’, the author stated data that showed Black women are viewed as less attractive than other women. The fact that the author devised such a preposterous study—and the magazine published it—speaks volumes about a certain segment of society that still denigrates Black women.

It begs a question about the ways in which Black women themselves wish to be portrayed, and what is being done about the spread of these alternate images of Black women. It seems as if the new and booming New Media offers a tremendous opportunity to take the reigns and direct the creation of more multi-faceted images that reflect the beauty of these women.

New Media is alive and well. Its offerings change daily. Its many faces include, but are not limited to: Internet, Web sites, Webisodes and video programming sites (such as YouTube, Vimeo, etc.), video games, computer games, CD-ROMS and DVDs and print media that offer digital interactivity. There are a growing list of Web series produced, written and starring Black women such as “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl” (created by Issa Rae), “CHICK-Within Me Lives a Superhero” (produced by Kai Soremekun), “Afro City” (written and produced by Rhonda Ray), and “The New Twenties” (written and produced by Tracy Taylor and Maurice Dwyer). New Media offers low-cost and easy posting capabilities. All you need are creative vision, a computer, camera and Internet connection to share your vision with the world.

"The New Twenties" Webseries Produced by Tracy Taylor and Maurice Dwyer

 

Questions remain. What images do we hope to see? What are your favorite examples of work out there in the US and throughout the Diaspora? What are you doing to use this new media to transform images of Black women? The true stories of our lives, passions and desires remain unwritten. I welcome your thoughts and questions on this blog. As Ms. Hurston said, “There are years that ask questions and years that answer.”

Indigo Thread: Women of Vision and Purpose is a column on Orijin Blog and Magazine. The column focuses on Black women in the media and other areas of society, including social, cultural, economic and spiritual. The blog appears on Wednesdays, and the magazine version of the column appears in each edition of the publication. It is written by anthropologist and actress, Michelle Flowers, who is based in Los Angeles, CA.

The following two tabs change content below.
Profile photo of michelleflowers
Michelle Flowers works as an applied anthropologist and educator. She is currently pursuing her Ed.D. in Educational Leadership.
Profile photo of michelleflowers

Latest posts by michelleflowers (see all)

F
F
Twitter
orijinculture on Twitter
3,878 people follow orijinculture
Twitter Pic MarkSeyr Twitter Pic Folakemi Twitter Pic Mandingo Twitter Pic naekuban Twitter Pic shittyer Twitter Pic jherve Twitter Pic julioavi Twitter Pic kwakuaye
F
orijinculture
124
 Photos
1833
 Followers
986
 Following
My kind... #beOrijinal#AfricaI swear,now that is style... #beOrijinalDifferent #culture one people.and that's how it's suppose to be. #onelove #beOrijinalI don't get it. We teach kids basic skills that bring unity, however, we don't apply them in our lives. And we wonder why there is hate, greed and war. Thoughts on a #mondayGive thanks at all times...#GoodmorningDo you understand? #sunday quoteMy style , my swag. #beOrijinal#beOrijinal ... Loving it all
F
'