Schnelle Call a Dr. “Sexual Healing in der afrikanischen Diaspora”

In#CulturallyMisunderstood, #RealTalk

Ich erinnere mich, einen kurzen Artikel online über den letzten Auftritt Rihanna und die Teilnahme an ihres Landes jährlich Kadooment Feier und ich war die Reaktion der Medien empört. Einige nannten ihre Kostüme und bewegt 'skandalös,'Schlüpfrig "und" übermäßig sexuell. "

"Ignorance!"Ich erklärte. Mir, Diese Antworten sind in diesen Menschen die Unwissenheit und den Mangel an Wissen über die Wurzeln und kulturelle Feste und Praktiken in den West Indies verwurzelt.

Als stolzer West Indian, die häufig an den jährlichen Karneval in Kostümen ebenso aufschlussreich wie die Rihanna gekleidet trug und "getting auf schlecht", wie sie, wenn sie tanzte sich, Ich konnte einfach nicht verstehen westlichen Medien Empörung. Karneval und seine Feier ist ein integraler Bestandteil der westindischen Leben. Eine Chance, die Rolle von jemandem spielen wir sonst nicht öffentlich zugänglich angezeigt. Eine Chance, sich zu befreien und lassen alle Hemmungen. Es ist gut für die Seele! Selbst die religiösen und prüde Westinder umarmen und akzeptieren Fasching als notwendiger Teil des Lebens. Wenn nur die westlichen Medien wurde bewusst auf diese, Vielleicht würden sie nicht reagierten auf die Art, wie sie sich Rihanna haben. Aber, Ich bezweifle, dass der Besitz dieses Wissens würde ihre Wahrnehmungen ändern.

Wir sahen die Kontroverse um die "dutty Wein" zu entwickeln- ein Tanz populär gemacht von Reggae Dancehall Kultur. Während einige darauf hingewiesen, dass der Tanz in traditionellen westafrikanischen Fruchtbarkeit Tänze verwurzelt zu sein scheint, andere gestrahlt es als vulgär Tanz, der die skandalöse Art der Dancehall-Kultur macht.

Was ich interessant finde über afrikanische Kultur in der Diaspora ist die Verbreitung der Freiheit der sexuellen Ausdrucks. Ob wir uns ein National Geographic Video, ein Rap Video oder ein kulturelles Fest in den Straßen der Karibik, Freiheit der sexuellen Ausdruck ist fast immer vorhanden. In den beiden Beispielen der Karibik und Afrika, Frauen und Männer sind so frei in ihrer sexuellen Ausdrücken. Auf der Hand, Ich habe erkannt, dass in einigen Rap-Videos, modernen Dancehall und hiplife Videos, die Displays der Sexualität zwischen Männern und Frauen sind ein bisschen anders. Oft in diesen Musik-Videos, die Frauen sind auf dem Display als gesetzt sexuelle Objekte, während die Männer herumstehen sabbern "Zahnseide" ihren Schmuck, Autos und andere materielle Güter. Während viele dieser Videos fraglich Display Frauen als sexuelle Objekte, in verwurzelt Afrika und einigen Teilen der Karibik, Männer sind ebenso über ihre sexuellen Ausdrücken öffnen. Während ich das Thema sexistische Ideologie in diesen Videos behalten für eine spätere Diskussion, gemeinsamen Thema die Darstellung von Sexualität und Freiheit des sexuellen Ausdrucks ist immer präsent.

Ich weiß, dass ich vorsichtig sein, wo ich bin mit diesem gehe seit Afrikaner und ihre Nachkommen lange und hart an der Truppe zu sein hoch sexualisierte Schuppen gekämpft haben, heathenous Wilden – Rolle, wurde uns durch den Kolonialismus in ihrer Mission, uns zu zugeschrieben "zivilisierten Wesen." Allerdings, wir können nicht leugnen, dass viele von uns als sehr anpassungsfähig mit unserem Körper und Sexualität erscheinen. Viele von uns sind wahrscheinlich so, weil in vielen afrikanischen Stämmen und Kulturen, Der nackte Körper ist nicht in "sexuelle" sehr negativ gesehen, sondern, Der nackte Körper ist einfach unsere physische Manifestation des Seins- um es einfach auszudrücken, ein natürlicher organischer Teil der Natur der Dinge.

Könnte es sein, dass in der westlichen Welt sind auch wir mit Gleichsetzung des menschlichen Körpers und die Anzeige der es mit dem Sex verbraucht, anstatt auf sie als nur ein körperlicher Ausdruck und Manifestation des Selbst? Sind wir zu konservativ in unsere Sicht des menschlichen Körpers und seine Bedeutung in der Welt, sowohl kulturell und religiös? Was auch immer der Grund für unser Gefühl des Ekels, Scham und Ablehnung der äußeren Darstellung des menschlichen Körpers und der Sexualität, Ich kann einfach nicht helfen, aber denke, vielleicht sollten wir alle auf unsere eigene Untersuchung, warum wir damit beginnen, solche Gefühle Hafen einschiffen.

Die folgenden beiden Registerkarten ändern Gehalt unter.
Profile photo of Nekita
Beiname: Königin der Könige. "Ich sage es, wie es ist"
F
F
Twitter
orijinculture auf Twitter
3,881 Menschen folgen orijinculture

F
orijinculture
164
& Nbsp; Fotos
1901
& Nbsp; Verfolger
746
& Nbsp; Nach
They say with, Simplicity is totally sexy. #beOrijinal#beOrijinal, be a reflection of your #orijincultureTo #beOrijinal and #natural is #beautiful. Don't get confused, be you, naturally.Can you dig it? #beOrijinal  #beyourselfI am at war with the evilness behind #Ebola , #breastcancer , #cholera, #chikungunya and all the effing man made diseases to eradicate a #nation or #race. BS.Now that is deep. By our own standards #beOrijinal ... Just loving it.#africanpride #africaninspiredEmbrace your #culture.... #beOrijinal
F
'

Quick Call a Dr. “Sexual Healing in the African Diaspora”

In #CulturallyMisunderstood, #RealTalk

I remember reading a brief article online about Rihanna’s recent appearance and participation in her country’s yearly Kadooment celebration and I was outraged at the media’s response. Some called her costumes and moves ‘scandalous,’ ‘raunchy’ and ‘overly sexual.’

‘Ignorance!’ I declared.   To me, these responses are rooted in these people’s ignorance and their lack of knowledge about the roots and cultural celebrations and practices in the West Indies.

Being a proud West Indian who frequently participates in the yearly carnival celebrations dressed in costumes just as revealing as the one Rihanna wore and “getting on bad’ like she did when she danced, I just could not understand Western media’s outrage. Carnival and its celebrations is an integral part of West Indian life. A chance to play the role of someone we would otherwise not display publicly.  A chance to liberate yourself and release all inhibitions.  It’s good for the soul! Even the most religious and prude West Indians embrace and accept Carnival as a necessary part of life. If only the Western media was aware on this, maybe they would not have responded to Rihanna the way they did. However, I doubt that the possession of this knowledge would change their perceptions.

We saw the controversy develop around the ‘dutty wine’- a dance made popular by reggae dancehall culture. While some noted that the dance appears to be rooted in traditional West African fertility dances, others blasted it as a vulgar dance which exposes the scandalous nature of dancehall culture.

What I find interesting about African culture throughout the Diaspora is the pervasiveness of the freedom of sexual expression. Whether we are watching a National Geographic video, a rap video or a cultural celebration in the streets of the Caribbean, freedom of sexual expression is almost always present. In both the examples of the Caribbean and Africa, both women and men are just as free in their sexual expressions.  On the hand, I have realized that in some rap videos, modern dancehall and hiplife videos, the displays of sexuality between men and women are a bit different. Often in these music videos, the women are put on display as sexual objects, while the men stand around drooling ‘flossing’ their jewelry, cars and other material possessions. While many of these videos arguable display women as sexual objects, in rooted Africa and some parts of the Caribbean, men are just as open about their sexual expressions.  While I will reserve the topic of sexist ideology in these videos for a later discussion, the common theme the display of sexuality and freedom of sexual expression is always present.

I know that I have to be careful of where I am going with this since Africans and their descendants have fought long and hard to shed the troupe of being highly sexualized, heathenous savages –  role that has been ascribed to us by colonialism in their mission to make us ‘civilized beings.’  However, we cannot deny that many of us appear to be very conformable with our bodies and sexuality. Many of us are probably this way because in many African tribes and cultures, the naked body is not viewed in highly ‘sexual’ way, but instead, the naked body is simply our physical manifestation of being- to put it simply, a natural organic part of the nature of things.

Could it be that in the Western world we are too consumed with equating the human body and the display of it with sex, rather than looking at it as just a physical expression and manifestation of self?  Are we too conservative in our view of the human body and its meaning in the world, both culturally and religiously? Whatever the reason behind our sense of disgust, shame and disapproval of the outward display of the human body and sexuality, I just can’t help but think, maybe we should all embark on our own examination of why we begin to harbor such feelings.

The following two tabs change content below.
F
F
Twitter
orijinculture on Twitter
3,886 people follow orijinculture

F
orijinculture
164
 Photos
1925
 Followers
731
 Following
#beOrijinal#Africa will always #standout.99.999% of the negative image portrayed about #Africa is #bullshit. Sorry I had to be this raw.Say it loud? I am _____________Guess who? #blackhistoryThey say with, Simplicity is totally sexy. #beOrijinal
F
'